About Us

William R. Thomas, Music Director

  “Music is everything. In it there is joy in a hope for a peaceful world of unimagined beauty.” Mr. Thomas earned the Master of Music degree from The Florida State University School of Music and Bachelor of Music degree from Morehead State University. From 1986 through 2008, he was director of choirs and music theatre at Easton High School. Under his direction, the EHS choirs were sought by civic, service, and church groups throughout the Mid-Shore. The Choirs’ Christmas Concert was a perennial favorite of the wider community. Mr. Thomas received recognition and commendations for excellence in teaching from the Talbot County Arts Council and from Maryland governors, Paris Glendenning and Robert Ehrlich. Performances of major works included the Vivaldi-Gloria, Britten-Ceremony of Carols, Mozart- Faure- and Rutter- Requiems, and others. At EHS he produced & directed music for more than twenty music theatre productions. Among his favorites were: Ragtime (2005), Miss Saigon (2006) and A Christmas Carol (2006). Audience sizes for these productions totaled more than 3,000 per run. He has been called on for guest conducting, adjudicating, and choral clinician.  William served as organist and music director at Christ Church in St. Michaels from 1987 until June 2015 and is presently Associate Professor of Music at Chesapeake College. This is his 10th season with the TIDEWATER SINGERS. Under his direction, the TIDEWATER SINGERS have pleased audiences with a cappella concerts and major choral works by Rutter, Poulenc, Morten Lauridsen, Vivaldi, Randall Thompson and more. William, his wife Diane and daughter Zoe live in St. Michaels.  




Jane Elkin  

Patricia Ford

Claudia Frantz 

Mariangela Mastrandrea

Mary Ochse 

Nancy Robbins 

Denise Stahre

Teresa Wroten


Eugenie Drayton  

Frances Forster 

Julie Miller 

Patty Rubin 

Debra Smith

Diane Thomas 

Ellen Wile    



John Allen 

Randy Bachand 

Thomas Luschinski  

Jim Samiec 

Steve Strobeck  



Kenny Leonard

Robert McGee  

Eric Rubin 

Larry Sanford

Chris Whyman

Christopher Wroten 

Manager, Janet Pfeffer